Friedrich Adolph Haage (1796 ? 1866)

Friedrich Adolph Haage - the first Kakteen-Haage

Apprenticeship years: The queen of the night at the Saxon court

When Friedrich Adolph Haage was born in 1796 as the son of Johann Nikolaus Haage and Katharine Barbara Nehrlich, the family had been gardening in Erfurt for one hundred years.

He received his training at the Dresden court with the famous electoral court gardener Johann Heinrich Seidel. Frederick August is the Elector of Saxony and King of Poland.

From this time the first connection of the Haage dynasty to cacti is documented: The young Friedrich Adolph takes over the care of the princely cactus collection at the Hofgärtnerei.


The Court Gardener's Office is responsible for the lavish design of the Court's garden festivals and for providing them with attractions. When the king wishes the "Queen of the Night" (Selenicereus grandiflorus) to flourish at one of these festivals, the court nursery under Seidel is faced with a challenge. The plant had suffered frost damage last year and looks miserable. But Friedrich Adolph Haage succeeds, which hardly anyone had expected: just in time for the garden party, the Dresden "queen" has recovered thanks to his care and is in full bloom. Even today this would still be a masterpiece: the event in 1814, for example, goes down as a side note in the annals of the Dresden court.


Back in Erfurt again

After successful years of travel Friedrich Adolph returns to his hometown Erfurt. He has a valuable cutting of the "Queen of the Night" in his luggage. This the king had left to him in thanks. He founds a small commercial and seed nursery. Despite initial setbacks, the company soon developed into a major horticultural company.  


Friedrich Adolph Haage is apparently not only an excellent cultivator, but also a skilled merchant. He has a fine sense for promising innovations. Its business is one of the first German retail nurseries to advertise in newspapers. Already in 1824, two years after the foundation of the company, the first mailing list of the Haage´schen nursery appears, which makes our company one of the co-founders of the mail order business in German horticulture.


Friedrich Adolph's passion: cacti

Friedrich Adolph Haage also assumes responsibility in public life. He becomes co-founder of the Erfurt Horticultural Association and is later appointed its honorary director for his special merits. After his death in September 1866, the "Erfurter Verschönerungsverein" erected a monument in the Steigerwald to honour these merits.  


Under his leadership, cacti are initially only a small but highly innovative part of the nursery's range, but Friedrich Adolph Haage's passion belongs to them. Within a very short time he has built up one of the most extensive collections and has become one of the leading connoisseurs of this culture. Visitors to the nursery interested in cacti during these years include Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Franz Liszt and Alexander von Humboldt.


Friedrich Adolph's son Gustav Ferdinand Haage takes over the company and faces great challenges.

Click here to opt-out of Google Analytics.
* incl. tax, plus shipping
X
search will performed

Friedrich Adolph Haage (1796 - 1866)

Friedrich Adolph Haage - der erste Kakteen-Haage

Lehrjahre: Die Königin der Nacht am sächsischen Hofe

Als Friedrich Adolph Haage im Jahr 1796 als Sohn von Johann Nikolaus Haage und Katharine Barbara Nehrlich geboren wird, ist die Familie schon seit einhundert Jahren als Gärtner in Erfurt tätig.

Seine Ausbildung erhält er am Dresdner Hof beim bekannten kurfürstlichen Hofgärtner Johann Heinrich Seidel. Friedrich August ist der Kurfüst von Sachsen und König von Polen.

Aus dieser Zeit ist die erste Verbindung der Haage-Dynastie zu Kakteen dokumentiert: Der junge Friedrich Adolph übernimmt die Pflege der fürstlichen Kakteensammlung in der Hofgärtnerei.

Der Hofgärtnerei obliegt es, die Gartenfeste des Hofes üppig auszugestalten und mit Attraktionen zu versehen. Als der König wünscht, die "Königin der Nacht" (Selenicereus grandiflorus) solle auf einem dieser Feste blühen, steht die Hofgärtnerei unter Seidel vor einer Herausforderung. Die Pflanze hatte im Vorjahr einen Frostschaden erlitten und sieht elend aus. Doch Friedrich Adolph Haage gelingt, womit kaum jemand gerechnet hatte: Pünktlich zum Gartenfest hat sich die Dresdner "Königin" dank seiner Pflege erholt und steht in voller Blüte. Auch heute noch wäre das eine Meisterleistung: So geht das Ereignis im Jahr 1814 als Randnotiz in die Annalen des Dresdner Hofes ein.

Wieder zurück in Erfurt

Nach erfolgreichen Wanderjahren kehrt Friedrich Adolph in seine Heimatstadt Erfurt zurück. Im Gepäck hat er einen wertvollen Steckling der "Königin der Nacht". Diesen hatte ihm der König zum Dank überlassen. Er gründet eine kleine Handels- und Samengärtnerei. Trotz anfänglicher Rückschläge entwickelte sich die Firma bald zu einem bedeutenden Gartenbauunternehmen.  


Friedrich Adolph Haage ist offenbar nicht nur ein hervorragender Kultivateur, sondern auch ein geschickter Kaufmann. Er hat einen feinen Sinn für erfolgversprechende Neuerungen. Sein Betrieb ist eine der ersten deutschen Handelsgärtnereien, die mit Zeitungsanzeigen wirbt. Schon im Jahr 1824, zwei Jahre nach Gründung des Unternehmens, erscheint die erste Versandliste der Haage'schen Gärtnerei, die unseren Betrieb zu einem der Mitbegründer des Versandhandels im deutschen Gartenbau macht.

Friedrich Adolphs Leidenschaft: Kakteen

Friedrich Adolph Haage übernimmt auch im öffentlichen Leben Verantwortung. Er wird Mitbegründer des Erfurter Gartenbauvereins und wird später für seine besonderen Verdienste zu dessen Ehrendirektor ernannt. Um diese Verdienste zu würdigen, errichtet der "Erfurter Verschönerungsverein" nach seinem Tod im September 1866 ein Denkmal im Steigerwald.  

Unter seiner Führung sind Kakteen zunächst nur ein kleiner, aber hochinnovativer Teil des Sortiments der Gärtnerei, ihnen aber gehört die Leidenschaft Friedrich Adolph Haages. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit hat er eine der umfangreichsten Sammlungen aufgebaut und war zu einem der führenden Kenner dieser Kultur avanciert. Zu den an Kakteen interessierten Besuchern der Gärtnerei in diesen Jahren zählen Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Franz Liszt und Alexander von Humboldt.

Friedrich Adolphs Sohn Gustav Ferdinand Haage übernimmt den Betrieb und steht vor großen Herausforderungen.

Klicken Sie hier, um Google Analytics zu deaktivieren.
* inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten